45+ Years | 500+ Film and TV credits | 135+ Awards

SINCE 1975

Jun 5, 2020

We are thrilled to report that Rob Bredow, Executive Creative Director & Head of Industrial Light & Magic, is among the six newly elected members to join the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences’ 2020-2021 Board of Governors. Additionally, Jessica Teach, San Francisco Executive in Charge, and 12 individuals from our artist and engineering ranks have been invited to join The Academy.

“I’m supportive of many of the positive changes that have been made within the Academy recently, and I want to focus on continuing this positive momentum,” said Bredow, adding, “I believe the VFX Branch will be stronger if we are more inclusive. A number of brilliant and accomplished visual effects experts are joining the Academy, including a few from ILM who I am excited to work alongside in this capacity. There is still much to be done. I’m excited to be joining the board of governors in this time of change.”

Bredow, who helped start the Academy Software Foundation and serves as chair, is also passionate about sharing  “I think as leaders in our field, we have the honor and responsibility to share what we’ve learned for the next generation of filmmakers.”

The 2020 Academy Invitees from ILM:
Jessica Teach

Jon Alexander – Avengers: Age of Ultron, Noah
Tami Carter – Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, Lucy
Karin Cooper – Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, Kong: Skull Island
Ryan Church – Transformers: The Last Knight, Avengers: Age of Ultron
Leandro Estebecorena – The Irishman, Kong: Skull Island
Stephane Grabli – The Irishman, Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom
Douglas Moore – 12 Strong, Ant-Man
Nick Rasmussen – Ready Player One, Star Wars: The Last Jedi
David Seager – Aladdin, Terminator: Dark Fate
Amy Shepard – Playing with Fire, Doctor Strange
James Tooley – Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
Paige Warner – Terminator: Dark Fate, Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales

For a full list of the 2020 Academy Invitees, click here and for a full list of the current 2019-2020 Academy governors, click here.